Dream Wife announce new album ‘Social Lubrication’, share ferocious single ‘Hot (Don’t Date A Musician)’

Dreamwife have shared details of ‘Hot (Don’t Date A Music)’, a new single off her third album ‘Social Lubrication’ – listen below.

  • Read More: Dream Wife – ‘To Jab Aap…’ Review: Yeh Yeh Yeh’s swagger and Riot Girl’s laugh

The album, which is the follow-up to 2020’s ‘So When You Gonna…’, will be released on June 9 via Lucky Number (pre-order). Here).

Today (February 7), the London-based trio, consisting of singer Raquel Majol, guitarist Alice Gow (She/She) and bassist Bella Pod Paddock, have shared the second single from their new album. Check out the Bethany Fitter-directed music video for the track below.

Majul said of the song: “Dating musicians is a nightmare. Picturing a late-night makeout with a fuckboy/girl/gender-ambiguous musician on their mattress after being seduced by songwriting chat.

“The roles are equally interchangeable. Being able to laugh together and make fun of ourselves is very much at the heart of this band. This song encapsulates our shared sense of humor. Sonically it’s CSS and Motörhead. is the love child of . It has our hard, live, rock edge with cheeky and lively vocals.”

Per the press materials, ‘Social Lubrication’ is a completely self-written and self-produced album by the trio, with the only outside influence coming from heavyweight mixing duo Alan Mulder (Nine Inch Nails, The Colors, Depeche). Maud) and Cesar Edmonds (Wet Leg, Beach House).

It has been described as an “incendiary and tumultuous record” that “sees the band once again tackle big themes in their trademark unapologetic style where, adept at merging the political with the playful With being, important statements are hidden within the warm and heavy anthem. Make out, have fun and stay curious”.

In the band’s words, ‘Social Lubrication’ is hyper lusty rock and roll with a political punch, an alchemy of attraction, lust for life, embracing community and calling out the patriarchy. With a healthy dose of playfulness and fun.”

Gu said: “Music is one of the only forms of people who feel at once in an emotional, physical, real way. It’s cathartic for the systemic issues that are being called out across the board in the record. Music is therapeutic. It’s not, but it’s therapeutic. Calling the record social lubrication affects it. It’s the positive glue that can create solidarity and community.

“The album is talking about systemic issues that can’t be solved by grease,” Podpadick added. “The things that are named in the songs are symptoms of f-add structure. And you can’t fix it. You need to take it apart.”

Album artwork for Dreamwife's 'Social Lubrication'
Album artwork for DreamWife’s ‘Social Lubrication’. Credit: Maisie Cousins

‘Social Lubrication’ Tracklist:

01. ‘Kick in the Teeth’
02. ‘Who do you want to be?’
03. ‘Hot (Don’t Date a Musician)’
04. ‘Social Lubrication’
05. ‘Kajal’
06. ‘Leech’
07. ‘I Want You’
08. ‘Curious’
09. ‘Sincerely’
10. ‘orbit’

Last year Dreamwife released ‘Latch’, the first single from her upcoming album.

The band spoke. NME About their comeback and how ‘Leech’ differs from their other material. “Do you use your power to get young women to listen to what you have to say?? Read some lyrics of the song.

Mjöll explained that the band wanted to be less apologetic going forward. “I think it’s very interesting. It’s true, it’s raw, and it’s rock. I’ve got it with humility.”

Dreamwife also head out on a UK and Ireland tour after playing this year’s SXSW festival – see dates below.

5 – Reading, are you listening?
6 – Wrexham, The Rockin’ Chair

12 – Kingston, Banquet
13 – Brighton, resident
14 – London, Rough Trade East

9 – Glasgow, TRNSMT Festival
23 – County Laois, Forest Festival Music and Arts Festival
28 – Thirsk, Deershed Festival

Read full article here

Related Articles

Latest Posts